1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question I'm new to c++ & I need help!

Hi.

I want to learn C++ to create programs in Linux. But I am a complete newbie (I've done programming in VB & PHP though).

What do I need & what tutorials do you recommend.

Thank you.
  3. Big Endian
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

Here's a good free book to get you started:
    http://www.mindview.net/Books/TICPP/...ngInCPP2e.html

Currently there's another thread on free Linux IDEs:
    I Need a free C++ IDE

The LinuxDoc website has a HOWTO programming section:
    http://www.linuxdoc.org/HOWTO/HOWTO-...ogramming.html

Because I do most of my work from a Win2k laptop, I usually write the bulk of my code using UltraEdit (www.ultraedit.com) and save my files to my Linux box via ftp. This of course is a personal preference. You can always use vi.

Start off with Hello World! and build from there...
  5. No Profile Picture

Thanks!

Tahnk you very much! I need all the help I can get <grin>
  7. No Profile Picture

hey

OK, the whole thing with programming on linux is that there are really two schools of approaching the "process" of programming:
    IDE and command line. Which you prefer will depend on what
    you have to do (GUI work tends to be pretty much IDE-centric, server coding is usually command line work, etc) and your personal preferences. The cool thing about unix is that, becuase the command line is so well developed, programming there is just as easy as pointing and clicking at an IDE.

That said, IMHO, as a newbie you should use the command line tools (or at least, some editor you like and the command line to
    invoke the compiler and such). Why? Becuase that is actually simpler than most IDEs (open up the options dialog sometime in VC++, heh), the knowledge is more "portable" (what happens if you only know, say, Visual C++ but then you have to