1. Rut row Raggy!
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

Question Programming Windows/C. Petzold book

I was thinking about getting that Win32 programming book by Charles Petzold, but I wanted to know if it's just a reference book or if it actually explains things. The reason I ask is b/c I'm a newbie and a reference book will be of little help to me since I don't know a whole lot about Win32 API.
    Matt
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

If you're a newbie C programmer, then get a book on C first. Once you have a good handle on C, then Petzold's book is a great introduction to the Windows API. It teaches you, and can also be used as a reference.
    Jon Sagara

"Me fail English? That's unpossible!"
  5. Rut row Raggy!

I've had a class on C++, and understand it well enough to make basic applications. So that answers my question, thanks.
    Matt
  7. Contributing User

Note that Petzold's book features programs in C only. If you want windows programming with C++, check out Jeff Prosise's "Programming Windows with MFC 2nd ed."
    Jon Sagara

9. Rut row Raggy!

I was told to get a good grip on Win32 befor diving into the incredibly complex world of MFC. :eek:
    Matt
  11. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I'm reading through Petzold right now. It's great but you absolutely must have a handle on C first.
  13. Contributing User

I was told to get a good grip on Win32 befor diving into the incredibly complex world of MFC.
    Yep, that's fair. MFC is just a thin wrapper around the Win32 API, so by reading Petzold first, you'll better understand what's going on underneath the hood of MFC.
    Jon Sagara

15. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I read through about half of Petzold's 1300 pages, and now I'm reading MFC Programming from the Ground Up, by Schildt.