1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

RE: Initializing object of a class and using methods via a vector

As an inexperienced c++ programmer, I'm having difficulties implementing a driver program to work on a class (animal). Just to keep things simple I will show only the code which I suspect is causing the problem:

int main ()
    {

string name, *animalname;

int numanimals

cout << "Enter number of animals: ";
    cin >> numanimals;

vector <string> animalnames;

for (int i = 0; i < numanimals; i++)
    {
    cout << "Enter animal's name: ";
    cin >> name;

animalnames.push_back (name);

*animalname = animalnames[i];

Animal*animalname;

animalname->setName(name);

cout << animalname->getName();
    }
    }

Although I have got this driver program to compile, when I execute it, just after I have typed the 1st animal's name, I get the error message "core dumped"! What I'm trying to achieve is a program which determines the number of animals, then for each animal an input is asked to determine the animal's name. The program should then initialize an object in the class 'Animal' giving the object the name which the user has inputted. Then once the object has been initialized, the method in the 'Animal' class called 'setName' should be executed so that the object which the method operates on is the name that the user has typed in for the animal. Finally an output should be displayed showing the name that has just been set into the object and again the 'getName' method should operate on the object which corresponds to the name of the animal that has just been entered.

Although I beleive I am getting closer to solving this problem, I would appreciate any ideas in where I am going wrong.

Maz.
    Last edited by markb_1984; March 14th, 2003 at 05:16 PM.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

Hi,