1. Junior Member
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Who wants to play find that bug?

I'm trying to program a function that will convert an integer value to binary for the purpose of viewing the flags passed by uMsg in a DOS output window. I went through it step by step and based one what I know it should work, but then again I'm a newbie to C++. Anyway, for some reason, this function always return the value 0x0 and I can't figure out why. Any ideas? Btw, here is the page I based my algorithm on: http://www.muine.org/~minhqt/Nax_web...ry.html#binary

INT ViewIntAsBin(INT intVar)
    {

int intReturnedVar = 0;
    int Counter = 0;

while(intVar > 0)
    {

if((int)floor(intVar / 2) != (intVar / 2))
    {
    intReturnedVar = intReturnedVar + (int)pow(10, Counter);
    }

intVar = (int)floor(intVar / 2);
    Counter++;
    }

return intReturnedVar;
    }
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Re: Who wants to play find that bug?

Here's the short answer:
    The expression (intVar / 2), wherein intVar is an integer, will always perform integer division which always returns only the quotient; the remainder is always lost.
    Therefore, ((int)floor(intVar / 2) != (intVar / 2)) will never be true and you will never have any of the bits in your return value set to one; the ViewIntAsBin function will always return a zero.

Solution:
    If you want to keep your approach, do floating-point division instead.

Better Solution (IMHO):
    Keep the integer division, but make use of the modulo operator (%) which returns the remainder of an integer division -- if x is even, then (x % 2) is zero and if x is odd, then (x % 2) is one.
    Also, instead of using the pow function, why not just initialize a variable to 1 and then shift it left each loop; eg:
    Code:
    int iBit = 1;

while (intVar > 0)
    {
        if (intVar % 2)  // there is a remainder
            intReturnedVar += iBit;

intVar /= 2;
        iBit *= 10;
    }
  5. Contributing User