1. Bad Andy
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

edit box text manipulation

Again, as it is my first time using BCB, I am having some trouble with the basics. My latest problem? Type mismatches. Im trying to read in a number value from a simple edit box to use it as a variable in an equation. For example, assume edit box "edit" exists:

int TempTickX, XAxis;

TempTickX = XAxis / (edit->Text);

The text property of edit returns an AnsiSting. My mistake was obvious once I had made it, but I can't seem to come up with a solution. I tried type casting, but to no avail. Any suggestions would be useful. Thanks.
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

I don't have C++Builder, but you need to use a built-in function or method that converts a string into a numeric value.

In C, there are functions like ASCII-to-integer/float/long or string-to-double/long/unsignedlong: atoi(), atof() atol(), strtod(), strtol(), strtoul(). These take a character array as their parameter and return the numeric value represented in that string.

String classes usually have similar conversion functions or can be used with library functions. If you try to use the standard C functions, then you will need to expose the character string contained in the AnsiString object. For that, you would need to read through AnsiString's methods.

That should give you an idea of what to look for.
  5. Bad Andy

Ok, I found a function.

int atoi(const char *s)

however, I am still having some problems. Heres what I have

char *NXTick;
    char *NYTick;

*NXTick = NewTicksY->Text;//<--right here it tells me I cant
    *NYTick = NewTicksX->Text;//convtert AnsiString to char.

int UserTickX = atoi(NXTick);
    int UserTickY = atoi(NYTick);

Another dumb mistake?
  7. Banned ;)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA
    Use StrToInt() instead

int UserTickX = StrToInt(NewTicksX->Text);
  9. Contributing User

Originally posted by AGibel
    Ok, I found a function.