1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Returning a PCHAR

I have lazily scanned this forum in search of something that might help with the trouble Im having but havent found anything so I thought I would try my luck :-) Im a NOOB so be gentle :-D

I need to return a PCHAR from this DLL but for some reason I cant! The compiler spits:

initialization to `CHAR *' from `const char *' discards qualifiers

Heres my function code:

Code:
    export PCHAR testing(PCHAR reg_name, PCHAR reg_key)
    {
        //PCHAR result;

string sRegKey;
        sRegKey = reg_key;
        for(int x=0;x<sRegKey.length();x++)
        {
            if(sRegKey.substr(x,1) == "-")
            {
                    sRegKey.erase(x,1);
            }
        }

PCHAR result = sRegKey.c_str()

return result;
    }
    No matter what I do, I always get into trouble when it comes to types :-(

UPDATE:

Okay... I managed to cast it and it compiled properly.. However, is there a better/more widely acceptable way to work with this type of thing?

solution:

return (char*)sRegKey.c_str();
    Last edited by theAquaNut; June 18th, 2003 at 03:59 PM.
  3. Banned ;)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA
    You haven't indicated which line the error is in, but I can guess it is here:
    PCHAR result = sRegKey.c_str();

The c_str() method returns a const char *. You can always type cast it to char *, if you like, something like this:
    PCHAR result = (char *) sRegKey.c_str();

However, this will cause bigger problems, because when the function exits, sRegKey will be destroyed (since it's a local variable) and you'll return a pointer pointing to invalid memory. A better way to handle this is to alter your function to accept another parameter (i.e.) a pointer to an output char array, or a reference to a string object. Then your function can return an error code, but return the actual result via the additional parameter.

Code: