1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Pseudo-random Generator in C

Hi. I am a fairly new C programmer (I'm more experienced in Java and C++) and was just wondering if the C libraries provided a way to generate a random integer? Thank you!
    Jill
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed God 1st Plane (5500 - 5999 posts)

int rand()

You should defintively get a C reference book...
  5. No Profile Picture

Thank you very much for your help.
  7. No Profile Picture
    status unknown

... and a C++ reference book by the look of it ;-)
  9. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

You could also look into srand if you want to create different random number each time. rand generates the same random number each time it is called
  11. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

... a very useful "feature" in debugging ;)
  13. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Smile

Absolutely true, but was mentioning that srand could be used too to create random numbers:) ;)
  15. No Profile Picture
    status unknown

It may be that you understand what you mean but expressed it poorly, but your two posts could be considered misleading.

srand() doesn't generate random numbers, it seeds the random number generator. rand() doesn't generate the same number each time it's called, it returns the next number in the sequence. If you don't seed the generator before your first call to rand() it may start the sequence from the same point each time.
  17. I'm Baaaaaaack!

What are you using the random values for?