1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

pointer to an array in a function

Hi,
    I wanted to find out how i would point to the array arr in function get(char *p) so that i ould print the contents of this array.
    Your help will be appreciated.

int main(){
    char * ptr = NULL:

get(ptr);
    printf("contents: %s:, ptr);
    }

void get(char *p){
    char [5]mm = NULL;
    int i;

for(ii = o;i <5;i++){
    mm[i] = i;
    }

p = mm; /*I'm not sure about this part */
    }
    Last edited by js_badboy; September 11th, 2003 at 10:35 PM.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I'm no expert but i got a ? on here too and maybe this will help you and karma will come around and get my ? answered.

First of all you have a bug in your for loop where as you don't have i declared but instead have ii in this line:for(ii = o;i <5;i++){
    needs to be: for(int i = 0;i <5;i++){ (0 is a number not a letter)
    then if all you want to do is output it to the screen, #include <fstream.h> and just after you set all the values in the array you can put a cout << mm[i] (That is in the same loop just after you set it) or the better way to do it is to loop back through the array and cout << mm[i]; for every cycle.

try that.
    Thanks,

Jonathan Cobb
  5. jasondoucette.com

Re: pointer to an array in a function

js_badboy, please use code tags when you post code.

Your function get() does not accept the variable p by reference, so it is passed by value. Therefore changing p within the function does not change the ptr variable passed in. If you want to change the ptr variable that exists outside of the function, you must either pass it to the function by reference, or make the function return a value (instead of void), and assign this value to ptr:

ptr = get();