1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Colourful Pascal Console

Hi,

I know this is not about C, but there is no space for Pascal on this, the best developer's forum site.

I am studying computing at college at the moment and we have to learn Pascal. I am already an experienced programmer and so learning an outdated language (at least thatís my opinion) such as this is annoying to say the least. I want to brighten it up a bit. We have started, as usual in console programming and so the programs arenít exactly thrilling. Therefore I would like to brighten it up a bit. Does anyone know of any graphical commands for the Pascal console? Perhaps to change the text colour or to draw a line?

Regards

Tajmiester
    Thanx Tajmiester.
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

What Pascal compiler are you using?

The problem with Pascal is that Standard Pascal doesn't have that many features. It was created to be an academic language to be used for teaching structured programming. Console output is strictly teletype mode and file I/O is strictly sequential. Every industrial-strength compiler, including Borland's Turbo Pascal, had to extend the language with libraries that allowed us to do direct file access and fancy stuff on the console. The problem is that every compiler extended the language differently.

The other problem is that it's been so long that I'd have to go back and look all that up again for Turbo Pascal.
  5. Banned ;)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA
    Turbo Pascal had TextColor and TextBackground IIRC. You called it like this:
    TextColor(red);
    TextBackground(white);

or
    TextColor(4);
    TextBackground(15);
    Up the Irons
    What Would Jimi Do? Smash amps. Burn guitar. Take the groupies home.
    "Death Before Dishonour, my Friends!!" - Bruce D ickinson, Iron Maiden Aug 20, 2005 @ OzzFest
    Down with Sharon Osbourne