1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

C++, seperating the digits of an intger

In a book I have been reading about C++, one of the exercises has asked me to separate a 5 digit integer into single integers separated by 3 spaces using the / and % operators.

for example
    12345 --> 1 2 3 4 5

I have no idea how to do this and I feel I can't move on until I know how to do this. I am only a beginner at c++ and have not come across for or while statements yet so if you could try to give me pseudo code that has for or while statements.

I only want something like a formula on how to do this.

Thanks in advance
  3. I'm Baaaaaaack!
    Devshed God 1st Plane (5500 - 5999 posts)

Convert the integer to a string (man sprintf), then read off the digits from the string.

Comments on this post

• almo2001 agrees

My blog, The Fount of Useless Information http://sol-biotech.com/wordpress/
    Free code: http://sol-biotech.com/code/.
    Secure Programming: http://sol-biotech.com/code/SecProgFAQ.html.
    Performance Programming: http://sol-biotech.com/code/PerformanceProgramming.html.
    LinkedIn Profile: http://www.linkedin.com/in/keithoxenrider

It is not that old programmers are any smarter or code better, it is just that they have made the same stupid mistake so many times that it is second nature to fix it.
    --Me, I just made it up

The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man.
    --George Bernard Shaw
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by mitakeet
    Convert the integer to a string (man sprintf), then read off the digits from the string.
    I have no idea how to do that
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

its fixed now, thanks for the help
  9. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Originally Posted by mitakeet