1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Working with a Programmer

Hey guys, I'm completely new to this so please bear with me. I'm looking to work with a local programmer for app design. I know a few talented people, but I want to make sure I know how to get my idea across to them, regarding app design. I'm hoping to establish the following before I proceed (so I don't get fleeced): Is it possible to create an app that features a 3d image that can be swiped, rotated, and have specific areas selected that navigate to a specific page? I'm thinking of a 3d anatomy chart where each specific part of the anatomy can be selected, which leads to a pop-up, and essentially navigates the user to a specific solution for the area selected. Also, I'd like to feature short clips of the 3-d section of anatomy selected. I'd just like to know how difficult this is for someone to develop, if even possible, so I have an idea of how to lead this conversation. I hope this makes sense, any help is greatly appreciated, thank you.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

It is possible, and as far as 3d work goes it's not particularly advanced*, but 3d work is a specialization that a lot (probably most) programmers do not have and even basic 3d work is difficult for someone who isn't familiar with it.

If by app you mean something that would run on a mobile device, that adds an additional level of complexity. And you would definitely need to clarify that you mean a mobile app when talking with your programmer.

Before you even begin looking for a programmer, figure out what operating systems and platforms you want to support.

Do you have your 3d models already? If not, you should start looking into those as their format could influence the design of the application.