1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Analyse Sound Input

Hello!

I am new to C programming (I'm coming from php/python) and I want to do something pretty complicated :D
    I want to have a led on a arduino (uno) board blinking to the beat of the music.
    I need to know how to analyze the frequencies of an virtual audio input (loop-back from the output)
    I don't want to have the a complete solution, but I would be happy about some keywords/links/libraries I could use to reach my goal!

Thank you
    bluedisc
  3. No Profile Picture
    Still Learning
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Arduinos have analog input lines. Maybe the out on a RCA plug could be fed into it . Adjusting the input volume so the most intense sould just reach 5 volts then you could directly read it and analysis it on the Arduino.

It do not think you need a complex analysis of the sound to detect the beat. Just turn on the led when it the input voltage overly 4.5 and off otherwise.

A hack that may or may not work is to hook up the microphone to a digital line and flash the led when the digital input reads as 1.
    This might work because intensity of the sound of the drums may push
    Input to max.

I am unsure of the output voltage level of a RCA plug or a head phone
    Jack but check out this
    http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=11204
    http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_6/chpt_4/13.html
    Last edited by admiraln; February 16th, 2013 at 04:23 AM.
  5. Contributing User

Admiraln's suggestion I suggest is somewhat simplistic. The "beat" need not be the loudest audio component, simply flashing the LED at some arbitrary amplitude might not give a satisfactory response. Apart from that if that is all you wanted to do it would not be a particularly interesting project.