1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

How does strcspn work?

Noob here.

Trying to get the basics of file writing and parsing in C.

I am trying to understand exactly how strcspn works when it comes to removing the new line. Does anyone know of a good link or can explain in simple terms how this works?

I also have another questions about this bit of code from a larger program I am looking at. This bit prints the line just stored into the lineBuffer array. But what's with all the backslashes?

printf ( "Line read = \"%s\"\n", lineBuffer ) ;

Sorry if I didn't explain this well. Please feel free to go in depth or ask more more questions about the problem.

Thank you
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I also have another questions about this bit of code from a larger program I am looking at. This bit prints the line just stored into the lineBuffer array. But what's with all the backslashes?
    The back slashes are "Escape" characters. They allow you to print the special characters like the quotation mark "\"", the backslash character "\\", or the new line character "\n".

Jim
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by jimblumberg
    The back slashes are "Escape" characters. They allow you to print the special characters like the quotation mark "\"", the backslash character "\\", or the new line character "\n".

Jim
    Thank you for your help. So would the line print out with the quotation marks?
  7. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

I've never used strcspn, but a man page for it is at http://linux.die.net/man/3/strcspn

As said, back slashes are used for escaping characters in C strings and in UNIX shells. That is to say that it indicates that the following character is to be used in an alternative manner.