1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Program Closes before Complete

Hi

I am new to programming and have started working through the Dummies guide to C.

One of the programs I have done in the book is the Madlibs program below.

/*
    Madlib1.c Source Code
    Written by David Milne
    */

#include <stdio.h>

int main()
    {
    char adjective[20];
    char food[20];
    char chore[20];
    char furniture[20];

/* Get the words to use in the Madlib */

printf("Enter an adjective:");
    scanf("%s",&adjective);
    printf("Enter a food:");
    scanf("%s",&food);
    printf("Enter a household chore:");
    scanf("%s",&chore);
    printf("Enter an item of furniture:");
    scanf("%s",&furniture);
    printf("Don't touch that %s %s!\n",adjective,food);
    printf("Im just %s the %s!\n",chore,furniture);

return(0);
    }

The problem I am having with it is it runs fine when run in a command prompt window that is already open however when it is run from the .exe file it closes the program after hitting enter after entering an item of furniture and I am not sure why.

Thanks

Dave
  3. Contributing User

its because of when ever u press enter string is taken by scanf but new line character is already in buffer so in next scanf will be skipped.

to solve it add space before %s.

and u made another mistake when ever u use character array or pointer ie. string in scanf no need to use & operator.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Please stop using SMS speak, use proper English.

For example it's you not u.

Comments on this post

• eramit2010 agrees : sorry i will take care about it next time thanks...
  7. No Profile Picture

Could you show me where I need to add the space? I have tried putting it in front of every %s but the program still closes after you enter an item of furniture.

Thanks

Dave
  9. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User