Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Embedded programming starting point

Hello Everyone,

I am looking for a embedded systems and a book to get started on embedded programming. The job I just recently got requires the use of exclusively C. I am a recent graduate and have some but not extensive experience in C.

I have been looking at the beaglebone black, and rasberry pi's, both of which are a fair cost with decent enough GPIO.

However when trying to find a book and tutorials online I am finding most are either Java, or python which dont meet my needs. The beaglebone black has shockingly little C programming info online.

Can anyone suggest an embedded board, and a good book to learn not only basics about embedded programming, but also labs/examples in c?
  3. No Profile Picture

If your new job uses the ARM processor, see if you can get a tool kit to use at home. If not, See what you can find in the way of free tool kits for the ARM processor, such as the armulator.

If it's not an ARM process, see if you can get a tool kit for home use from the company or a freeware version, or stay after hours and study at work. Using an emulator with a source level debugger would be best.
  5. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

If your new job is in embedded programming, then study up on the platform and development system that they're using. Or better yet, learn it on-the-job.
  7. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by dwise1_aol
    If your new job is in embedded programming, then study up on the platform and development system that they're using. Or better yet, learn it on-the-job.
    It is in fact an ARM. I would just learn it on the job but we arent in development yet and it will be a few months until we do. I just want something at home to read and practice with until the time we write code comes
  9. Contributing User
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)