1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

c# Dns.GetHostEntry issues

I'm very new to c# and am trying to figure out what i'm doing wrong here. This is part of a simple PING application. I am getting an
    An unhandled exception of type 'System.Net.Sockets.SocketException' occurred in System.dll
    error when this line is run
    Code:
    IPHostEntry host = Dns.GetHostEntry(pingHost);
    . In all the examples i've looked at it appears as if i can pass a string into this, what am i doing wrong here?

Code:
     string pingHost = txtHostName.Text.ToString(); //Get the target to ping     
                IPAddress pingHostResult;
                Ping pingSender = new Ping (); //Create the PING object          

bool ipTest = IPAddress.TryParse(pingHost, out pingHostResult); //test to see if the pingHost value is an IP or host name

if (!ipTest) //if it is not an IP

{                

IPHostEntry host = Dns.GetHostEntry(pingHost);

string[] aliases = host.Aliases;
                    IPAddress[] addresses = host.AddressList;

pingHost = addresses.ToString();
                    MessageBox.Show(pingHost);
                }
    Any advice would be appreciated. Remember i've got about 2 hours of c# under my belt so It's probably something obvious.

DSFX
  3. Lazy Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

According to the documentation, a SocketException will be thrown if there is an error resolving the address.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by requinix
    According to the documentation, a SocketException will be thrown if there is an error resolving the address.