1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

[Help wanted] Form filler with a few tweaks

I have a few friends who work at the local Women's shelter, who recently asked if I could help out with an application they could use. However, while I do know a bit of programming, I'm a physicist, not a programmer, and I've drawn a blank among the people I know. So I thought maybe someone here might be interested in having a look? What they're looking for is this:

For every woman that seeks help they fill out a form. Currently this is done with paper and filers, but they would like to do it all by computer, so basically they need a form filler. The crux is that a) they need to have the program and its folders locked with a password (i.e. they can create a login for each employee) and b) they need a good set-up for automatic back-ups. Also, it would be nice if there was a simple function for adding more forms as well as editing existing ones, should it be needed in the future.

I'm afraid I can't promise a salary, as they generally don't have much money to spend on anything apart from the bare basics of the work they're doing. What I can promise is that you'll make a big contribution to what I dare call a pretty good cause - just the sort of thing that always looks good on a resume, if nothing else

If you're interested I'd be happy to go into more detail. Maybe it's worth mentioning that the WS in question is located in southern Sweden, should anyone with connections there happen to come by!
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

This sounds like a good and worthwhile cause , but i (and probably others) am missing a lot of information that is needed to create a form like this. For example:

-Why do you want to password protect the folders of the program and all? Is this a hard requirement, or do you "just" want to be sure that the data cannot be accessed by those that should not have access?