1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

PHP/SQL +/- CSS Dev Wanted

Hello all,

I have a vision but I'm not really sure where to start so I thought maybe this would be a good start.

My name is Andrew, and I am a third year veterinary student. Having spent many years in the veterinary healthcare industry, I have become increasingly aware of a striking issue that needs to be addressed…veterinary practice management software.

Most available software is VERY expensive, cumbersome, and hard to use. The packages often utilize complicated proprietary server software and require each workstation to carry an individual software license, further increasing cost to implement practice management software.

I have envisioned a web-based (PHP, SQL, CSS) practice management software package that would require only a central local web server and workstations capable of running a web-browser. This allows for us to get away from the multiple license architecture and allows for workstations to run ANY operating system, while making it easy to integrate mobile devices such as tablets whose use has increased significantly in the veterinary healthcare profession. Basically I’m looking to create a front end for a Create Update Read Delete database for veterinarians to use.

Though similar projects exist for the human side of medicine (e.g. OpenEMR), no such programs exist in any usable state for veterinarians. With 20,000 small animal veterinary clinics in the United States alone, there is a fairly large market to work with. Many veterinarians are frustrated with rising costs and are sick of spending tens of thousands of dollars on software to manage their practices.

My goals are:
    • Create a web-based veterinary practice management program which will cost significantly less than traditional practice management solutions