1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Changing Key values of a dictionary in a 'for' loop

I'm new to python and programming in general. I'm getting stuck on this one point. I need to change a key value for every repeat of this 'for' loop. Btw, I'm writing a Python clone of Dekagen.
    Code:
    tagData = {} # This dictionary actually has quite a few keys.
    for i in compressedTracks:
    	tagData['Title'] = "%s" % read_info['TTITLE' + `i`]
    	tag = open(i, rb)
    	tag.id3tag(i, tagData, action='create')
    	tag.apev2tag(i, tagData, action='create')
    # This is the error
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "/home/william/Documents/project/pykagen.py", line 110, in ?
        tagData['Title'] = "%s" % read_info['TTITLE' + `i`]
    KeyError: "TTITLE'track01.cdda.wav.mp3'"
    This works:
    Code:
    for i in range(disc_id[1]):
    	print "%.02d-%s" % (i + 1, read_info['TTITLE' + `i`])
    01-Say It Ain't So (remix)
    02-No One Else (live and acoustic)
    03-Jamie (live and acoustic)
    I'm probably totally going about this the wrong way, if someone could steer me in the right direction I would appreciate it.
    Python 2.3.4, Gentoo Linux 2.6.9 Kernel
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

The KeyError means you are looking up a non-existent value in a dictionary, so the problem is that read_info does not have a key "TTITLE'track01.cdda.wav.mp3'".

Incidentally "%s" % read_info['TTITLE' + `i`] is redundant since it is making a copy of the string for no reason. You can safely replace it with read_info['TTITLE' + `i`].

Dave - The Developers' Coach
  5. Hello World :)
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)

The double 'T' at the beginning of the key looks kinda like a typo to me, though I could be wrong; I'm not so sure about the use of the backticks either. If your unsure about the names of your keys or how they're formatted you could print read_info.keys().