1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Converting a string into a list

Hi,

I am Madhukar, doing M.Sc in physics. My friends, and myself are automating a complex calculation in Physics using Python. I am new to programming, and this is my first programming project.

We get a data file from a machine which contains thousands of numbers. Our program should read the data into a list in order to proceed with further calculations. I know how to read the file into a string, but I want the data to be in a list, as I may have to sort it first. For this I used the following code:

file = open('data.txt')
    string = file.read() # Read the data into the string 'string'
    list = eval(string) #Got this line from the forum itslef.

But this is showing the following message:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
    File "<string>", line 2
    ^
    SyntaxError: invalid syntax

As of now, I am not very clear about the eval(). Is there a simpler way (may be a bit longer) to convert a string into a list?

Saw a quite a few posts on 'How to ask a question?' Have not been able to go through all of them. Will see them, and try to follow. Hope this is not a very bad post!

Thanks!
    Madhukar
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

Frist, you shouldn't use "file" as a variable name. It is a reserved word. To read into a list use
    data_list = open("data.txt", "r").readlines()
    print len(data_list), "records read"
    Using one line to open and read the file will cause to file to be closed on the next garbage collection, so it is both easier and cleaner. If you want to ask about handling the data, please include some sample data both before and the after, that is the desired result.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)