Thread: Empty list ?

1. onCsdfeu
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Empty list ?

Hi everybody, I'm new here and I'm totally clueless.

I'm new to Python, and I have to admit I've never spent so much time debugging a program. I have absolutely no idea about what's NOT going on.
    Code:
    import string,socket

list = []
    s = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_STREAM)
    s.bind((socket.gethostname(), 7654))
    s.listen(1)
    print "Ok!"
    conn, addr = s.accept()
    data = conn.recv(1024) #"Hello"
    data = conn.recv(1024) #"END"
    conn.send("Hello Back\n")
    conn.send("END\n")
    i = 0
    while 1:
            data = conn.recv(1024)
    	print data
    	if 'END' in data:
    		break
    	else:
    		list.append(data)
    	i = i + 1
    for i in range(100):
    	list[i] = int(string.strip(list[i]))
    maximum = max(list)
    minimum = min(list)
    sending = str(minimum) + ":" + str(maximum) + '\n'
    print "Sending ", sending
    conn.send(sending)
    conn.send('\n')
    conn.send("END\n")
    conn.close()
    print list
    So a script connects to this one and sends a series of 100 integers, and when it's done I received a "END" signal. The program then sends "minimum:maximum" and then "END". If all is correct, I should get some message.

The problem is that I DO receive data : my print data does output the data I receive, but I get a list with only the first integer at the end. Why is the list empty ?

EDIT : put the full code + changed some details
    Last edited by SolarBear; July 21st, 2003 at 01:13 PM.
  3. Hello World :)
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)

Hi Solar,

can you post the other script because i can't really test it without that . On the pluss side i cant see a problem with this code. maybe your other isn't sending correctly?

There's a great section about python and sockes in "Python Web Programming" infact i think they use a similar example as your script above.

Have fun,
    Mark.
  5. onCsdfeu