1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Encoding errors in *comments*??

I'm new to python. I wrote the following code, and it ran fine on one unix machine and on learnpython.org. Then I scp'd it to another machine, and I get encoding errors (below). I have searched and found many posts about encoding issues when using strings, and the use of the '# coding=utf-8" directive, however my code doesn't use any strings, it simply does a little math. Furthermore, the encoding errors seem to appear on *comment* lines. ??

python Code:
    #! /usr/bin/python
    # This file is binsearch.py
    # in order to run it, you will need to do
    # "chmod u+x binsearch.py"
    # at the UNIX prompt to make it executable.
    # Then just run "./binsearch.py"
    # at the UNIX prompt

def fofx(x):
       return x**3 - 4*x**2 + x + 2.0

xlo = 0.0
    xhi = 10.0
    f = 999.999
    tol = 1.0e-12
    while (abs(f) > tol):
       xmid = (xlo+xhi)/2
       f = fofx(xmid)
       print xlo, xhi, xmid, f
       if (f > 0):
          xhi = xmid
       else:
          xlo = xmid

The error message I get is...

% ./binsearch.py
    File "./binsearch.py", line 3
    SyntaxError: Non-ASCII character '\xc2' in file ./binsearch.py on line 3, but no encoding declared; see (URL blocked: see forum rules) for details

How can I change some python config file on this system to make these errors disappear? It's just a simple text file. I even copied & pasted via mouse-highlighting within a simple text editor in order to eliminate any potential "magic" invisible characters, but the error persists.

If I add the '#coding=utf-8' line -- which I believe I "shouldn't" have to do, and this is why I'm posting this thread -- then I get a new error that seems to be due to the fact that I used spaces (3 spaces, exactly, for each indent) instead of tabs. I thought spaces OR tabs were allowed. Yay or nay?

Thanks so much! I'm stumped...

% python --version
    Python 2.7.3
  3. No Profile Picture