Thread: file processing

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

file processing

Hello,

I am a student in linguistics who needs to do some file and string processing. I've been using Perl for some time, but I'm looking for a more proper language.

I've been playing with Python, and it might be the pearl I'm looking for... (ok, easy joke)

I wrote a basic script in Python which reads a 2MB file and loads it in a string. I must confess that I am disappointed, because of the script being amazingly slow (about 5 minutes with an Athlon XP 1500+, against less than 1 second with Perl). Performance is not my main concern, but I want my scripts to perform decently.

Could someone please telle me wether the way I do it in Python is the best way to go ? Is it me or is Python definitively slow with large files ?
    Thank you very much,

Julien.

#!/usr/bin/python

import string

my_string = ''
    my_file = open('large_file', 'r')
    for line in my_file.readlines():
    line.strip()
    my_string = my_string + line
    my_file.close()

### end ###

And the equivalent file in Perl :

#!/usr/bin/perl

open(TXT, "my_file") or die "pb TXT : $!\n";
    while(<TXT>) {
    chomp;
    $my_string .= $_;
    }
    close(TXT);
  3. Hello World :)
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)

Mmmm ok dude, you're just a little scary you managed to write a piece of Python with nearly exactly the same format as perl

Python isn't as fast at string prosession as perl - but then that's what perl was made for - so I don't expect it to be.

Anyway asuming your using Python 2.+ this should work better, I knowtices you imported the module (string) and didn't use it which is a bad practice in itself.

Code:
    #!/usr/bin/env python

my_string = open('large_file', 'r').read().split('\n')
    This will give you a list containt all the lines in a file. assuming now that you want it as a single string you can call join on it as below

Code:
    #!/usr/bin/env python