1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Fraction Calulator Help

Hello community, I have been using Python for 4 months now and learning something new about it everyday. I do most of my actual coding on Android devices for Android devices. I'm the first to admit that I'm not as smart as some people and trying to learn something like this is very confusing at times. I like to write simple programs that I can actually use on a semi-daily basis like calculation programs. I am not a student looking for answers and to be honest, I wish I did stay in college. I am a person that loves to make a computer do what I want it to do.

That brings me to my question at hand. There were and still are many instances when I needed to add, subtract, multiply etc. fractions and was too lazy or forgetful to do the calculations on paper. I work in the construction trade (mostly plumbing and electrical) and frequently I deal with fractions regarding measured distances. I have successfully written a very verbose and basic fraction calculator in Python.

The current program just consists of inputting the first fraction, selecting add or subtract, inputting the second fraction and finally it returns the calculation. Pretty simple, right? I recently implemented using the Android UI menus to select what the first fraction would be.

Code:
    title = 'First Frac Denominator Range'
    droid.dialogCreateAlert(title)
    droid.dialogSetSingleChoiceItems(['1/2', 'Thirds', 'Fourths', 'Eighths', 'Sixteenths'])
    droid.dialogSetPositiveButtonText('Ok')
    droid.dialogShow()
    result = droid.dialogGetResponse().result
    ffdr = droid.dialogGetSelectedItems().result

for num1 in ffdr:
      if num1 == 0:
        showfrac = str('1/2')
        frts() #frts() is a function that just displays the showfrac str
        firstot = float(.50)
      elif num1 == 1:
        title = 'Thirds'
        droid.dialogCreateAlert(title)