1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Help with Boa Constructor GUI making

Hi and thanks in advance.

I am new to Python and I am using Boa Constructor to make a GUI interface. I followed the documentation for it on how to make the simple notepad program and now I need some help. I know this will be alot to ask and I might get shot down but here goes. And no, this is not a homework assignment for those that might ask.

I am trying to make an interface that will have text fields that read in data from a file and put the data into specific text boxes that allow you to change the information from those boxes. Kind of like and excel spreadsheet.

example:

I have a file that has these numbers and letters, the first 6 charachers are just identifiers for something else and can be ignored. ie :00000 :00001. I am only concerned with the 0808 and 1A33.
    :000000808
    :000011A33

Now I am trying make a simple interface that will have text boxes that only have room for 2 chars, ie 08 08 etc. I do not want anything else in these spots, but these text boxes must be able to write to the orignal file and replace the data displayed in them. So on the first line I want to change the 0808, I would have two text boxes that display the 08 08 and I can change these values to 08 22 and the new file when saved will look like this:
    :000000822
    :000011A33

I hope this is making sense to someone out there that might be able to help me. If I can get a jump on how to get it to work properly I can complete the rest of the interface. I'm just getting confused on how to make seperate text boxes that act like a spreadsheet that will only allow a user to input 2 chars of 0-9, A-F only, and read and write to those specific spots in the file.

Thanks in advance for any help or direction I might get.
  3. Mini me.
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

In psuedo code it might go like this:

Open the file containing the values.
    Read in all the lines into a list.