1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Need help with text-based adventure!

Hello all, I'm working on a text-based adventure game for an IT project, as I have finished my GCSE qualifications and am just waiting for the year to end before moving on to taking A level, and thought that a little project would be a nice way to pass the year. However, I'm relatively new to python, and would like help fixing my code. I'm receiving the following error message:

Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "C:\Users\Tom\Downloads\AdventureGameV2", line 26, in <module>
    ['You followed the passageway to find a lake, only to be filled of intoxicated water', '0', '1', '0', '0', '0', '0']]
    TypeError: list indices must be integers, not tuple

The '0', '1', '0', '0', '0', '0' numbers are a flag system, as edge detection, and 1 = blocked
    (#if this is set to 1, then the north passage is blocked
    #if set to 0, the choice to go north is offered
    if map[rowPosition][columnPosition][1] == '0' :
    print('Enter N to go north')

The block of code in which the error seems to occur is:

Code:
      [ ['You are now in an increasingly widening cave, you can clearly make out a door to the East and a narrow but accessible passageway to the South.', '0', '0','0','1','0','0'],
             ['You enter through the door, you notice there are stairs leading down to the North, you hear a strange noise to the South, and the sound of running water to the East', '0', '0','0','0','0','0'],
             ['You followed the passageway to find a lake, only to be filled of intoxicated water', '0', '1', '0', '0', '0', '0']]
             ['You walk up the stairs, you notice the intoxicated lake below the ridge you now stand on. You see a ladder to the East, you look up and are stunned by a bright light and sounds of the outside world', '1','1','1','1','0','0']