1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

I'm forgetting syntax - How do I subclass tkMessageBox?

Code:
    import tkMessageBox

class NowTranslating(tkMessageBox):
        def __init__(self, parent):
            tkMessageBox.__init__(self, parent)
    I'm wondering what I'm forgetting to do to the above code to make it run correctly. As of now, it gives me the Traceback error below:

Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "C:/Current/MY_PYTHON/Py_OOP_progs/Test3.py", line 3, in <module>
    class NowTranslating(tkMessageBox):
    TypeError: Error when calling the metaclass bases
    module.__init__() takes at most 2 arguments (3 given)

I'm still learning OO concepts, but normally I wouldn't even think of subclassing tkMessageBox. I'd just do:
    Code:
    nowTranslating = tkMessageBox.showinfo('Now translating hand histories...', 'Allow several seconds per file...')
    ...but when I use that line of code, I can't later do nowTranslating.iconify(), so I guess that I need to make a class that

inherits from tkMessageBox so that I can get an instance name and then iconify() the message box window. I tried Googling for some

example code that did this, but I couldn't find any so I guess that it's not a great way to do it, but I don't know. Any

suggestions?
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)

Following
    Code:
    import module
    the identifier "module" refers to the module "module" effectively from module.py. You cannot subclass a module. You can subclass other classes, such as tkMessageBox.Message

What effect are you trying to achieve?
    Last edited by b49P23TIvg; November 20th, 2013 at 11:28 PM.
    [code]Code tags[/code] are essential for python code and Makefiles!
  5. No Profile Picture

Re: