1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Interpreting this def

Hi there, I am fairly new to python and am not used at all with reading and interpreting it.. I've gotten an assignment at my new job to just document what happens in the script, I stumbled across this and can't really interpret it!

Anyone that feel that they can explain to me whats going on here?

Code:
    def getPortolioProficentreMapping(uploadDate): #get portfolio and profit center

sql_q = "SELECT child_name FROM pf_tree_mb WHERE name = 'ATCM_#x#_STO' AND "
        sql_q += "upload_date = '%s' " % uploadDate.string('%Y-%m-%d')

db = database.connection("DSN=armsrc.sebank.se")
        tbl = db.select(sql_q)
        portfolioList = []

for row in tbl:
            portfolioList.append(row['child_name'])

sql_q = "SELECT name,child_name FROM pf_tree_mb WHERE upload_date = '%s' AND " % uploadDate.string('%Y-%m-%d')
        sql_q += "child_name IN('%s') AND " % "','".join(portfolioList)
        sql_q += "type = 'profit_centre' AND name != 'MB'"

tbl = db.select(sql_q)

db.close()

portfolioProfitcentreDict = {}
        profitCentres = []

for row in tbl:
            portfolioProfitcentreDict[row['child_name']] = row['name']
            if row['name'] not in profitCentres:
                profitCentres.append(row['name'])

return sorted(portfolioProfitcentreDict.keys()),profitCentres,portfolioProfitcentreDict

def getPositions(uploadDate,portfolios):

sql_q  = "SELECT id,portfolio_name,system,trader,pos_type,pos_xml,user_def_xml FROM dbo.arms_position WHERE "
        sql_q += "portfolio_name IN('%s' )" % "','".join(portfolios)
        sql_q += "AND upload_date = '%s' "  % uploadDate.string('%Y-%m-%d')
        sql_q += "AND archived IS NULL AND cust_id = 1"

tbl = db.select(sql_q)
        db.close()

return tbl
  3. No Profile Picture

Code:

sql_q = "SELECT child_name FROM pf_tree_mb WHERE name = 'ATCM_#x#_STO' AND "  # A string that will be