Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

This will be a joke to most of you

I know this is going to be like 2 + 2 for most of you, but I just started learning this not too long ago.

If I wanted to take a user valve, count up until that value is reached and print squares of all those numbers leading up to that value, how would I go about squaring them in order?

So if they enter 100, I want the square of 1-99, 1, 4, 9, 16, etc etc
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)

Code:
    import sys
    import pprint

def prompt(dataType, message = '? '):
        sys.stdout.write(message)
        for tries in range(3):
            a = sys.stdin.readline()
            try:
                result = dataType(a)
            except:
                pass
            else:
                return result
            print('Enter '+str(dataType))
        sys.stderr.write('UserError\n')
        sys.exit(1)

def main():
        value = prompt(int,'Enter a small integer: ')
        try:
            sign = value/abs(value)
        except ZeroDivisionError:
            sign = 1
        print('values and squares')
        pprint.pprint([(sign*i,i*i) for i in range(abs(value+sign))])

if '__main__' == __name__:
        main()

import numpy

def main2():
        a = numpy.arange(abs(prompt(int,'enter a number: ')))
        pprint.pprint(numpy.concatenate((a,a**2)).reshape(2,len(a)).transpose())
    [code]Code tags[/code] are essential for python code and Makefiles!
  5. No Profile Picture

Thanks for the reply but I think that's just a little over my head.

I am learning while/if/loops/nested loops statements so it would need to be something like

user = float(input("Enter number: "))

x = 1
    while x < user:
    print(x)
    x += 1

print("Done")