Thread: What language?

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

What language?

Hiya all,

My problem is this; I eventually want to create an application that sits on a master server with a web front end. This program controls applications and manages files running on the slave servers.

Unfortunately I have never programmed before, choosing what language to learn/start with is proving very tricky. The solution needs to be cross platform working on Linux, FreeBSD and in the future poss win32. however the code will be being written on a windows box.
    I started teaching myself java a few days ago and I think Iím doing ok at it, the trouble is the more I looked at different languages the more confused I got. Would I be better off using Perl, or Python or even php? Then I stumbled onto mono, so perhaps c# is the way to go! agggggggggggggg

So far Iím quite attracted to python, it looks relatively easy and powerful but Iím not sure if it can do what I want to achieve
    The other trouble is that I can not find any good IDE's for python.

Any recommendations would be good..
  3. No Profile Picture

hmmm, after abit of hunting it appears that it is very hard to effectivly secure python source from prying eyes

This is a shame as it is to be a retail product I do not want it to be easy for anyone to view my code..
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

It is certainly possible to do what you want in Python - there are plenty of web service tools and frameworks available for it.

As for protecting the source, Python is compiled down to bytecode (.pyc files), which you can distribute instead of the source files. It is not too difficult to decompile the bytecode back into source, but this is also true of Java and C#.