1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Need a little help with html parsing.

So I am a noob at pretty much everything. Ill get that out of the way.

I am looking at lxml as a way to manipulate html documents. Right now i am trying to do something simple: remove all of the <h1> headings from a html doc. Here is what i have so far:

Code:
    import urllib2
    from sys import argv
    from lxml import etree
    import lxml.html

n=0

f = open ("testsite.html","r")
    data = f.read()

h = lxml.html.fromstring(data)

for hdr in h.xpath("//h1"):
        hdr.getparent().remove(hdr)
        print n
        n = n + 1

print n
    print h
    What i can not seem to wrap my head around at this point is what variable the string with the edited file is stored in. (so i can write it back to another text file) Any recommendations?
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Originally Posted by sona1111
    So I am a noob at pretty much everything. Ill get that out of the way.

I am looking at lxml as a way to manipulate html documents. Right now i am trying to do something simple: remove all of the <h1> headings from a html doc. Here is what i have so far:

Code:
    import urllib2
    from sys import argv
    from lxml import etree
    import lxml.html

n=0

f = open ("testsite.html","r")
    data = f.read()

h = lxml.html.fromstring(data)

for hdr in h.xpath("//h1"):
        hdr.getparent().remove(hdr)
        print n
        n = n + 1

print n
    print h
    What i can not seem to wrap my head around at this point is what variable the string with the edited file is stored in. (so i can write it back to another text file) Any recommendations?
    The variable with the updated html tree is 'h' in your above example. But to print it to another file, you must first parse it into a text tring.