1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

A little project help..

I'm really new to programming & I'm taking an entry level course right now.My professor gave us 2 projects here (below). Does anyone think they could find the time to help me out with these projects? I'm so confused & these are our last two projects and he won't be on campus anymore. I'm not asking anyone to do them for me, but guidance would help me a lot. Please & Thank you in advance.

1.)Write a program that will read an unknown number of bowlers and their bowling scores (with possible values from 1 to 300) from an external file called "bowlingscores.txt". The file will look similar to the following:
    David
    Hector
    Mary
    Jane
    Sam

Output the bowlers’ names to an external data file called "bowlingaverages.txt". Next to each bowler's name, print a message dependent on their scores:
    For perfect scores (equal to 300), output “perfect”
    For those scores greater than the average score, output “above average”
    For those below average, output “below average”
    Your program must include at least one function (e.g., to calculate the average, to determine the appropriate message to print, etc.).

And,

2.)Your program needs to decode an encrypted text file called "encrypted.txt". The person who wrote it used a cipher specified in "key.txt". This key file would look similar to the following:

A B
    B C
    C D
    D E
    E F
    F G
    G H
    H I
    I J
    J K
    K L
    L M
    M N
    N O
    O P
    P Q
    Q R
    R S
    S T
    T U
    U V
    V W
    W X
    X Y
    Y Z
    Z A

The left column represents the plaintext letter, and the right column represents the corresponding ciphertext.

Your program should decode the "encrypted.txt" file using "key.txt" and write the plaintext to "decrypted.txt".
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)