1. Only the strong survives!!.
    Devshed God 1st Plane (5500 - 5999 posts)

while loop & threading

Ok i have been reading a few doc in threading.. still in the newbie stage of it though but.. how do i turn this in to a while loop instead of a for loop but inside the run( ) function? i have tried and tried.. and all i get is my program to run and run and run and run even if i pressed ctrl+v it would still run ( i have created an evil program :P ) here is the one with the for loop

Code:
    import threading, time

class Threads( threading.Thread ):

def __init__( self, data ):

self.data   = data

threading.Thread.__init__( self )
                    self.setDaemon( 1 )

def run( self ):

print "Text -> %s" % ( self.data )

listd = ["sup jo", "Do i know you?"]

for x in listd:

test = Threads( x )
            test.start( )
            time.sleep( 1.0 )
            test.join( )

print 'Done!!'
    it works.. well but.. like i said.. im still new to threading and need it in a while loop for future gui programming .. and im still having a hard time tring to find a well built documentation in threading. but so far i understand the above .. also any suggestion to make it better would be great
  3. Mini me.
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

At the moment your program does not require threads at all. In the for loop it starts a thread then waits for that thread to finish (the join) before starting the next one.

IMO what your require is the use of events.
    The principle is that each thread is started (you can use the for loop but drop the join )

Then the main program busy waits in a while loop monitoring the events- at this point the main thread and child threads are all running in that time sliced multi-tasking mode. The main thread will wait for each threads event before deciding it has finished.
    Code:
    import threading, time

class Threads(threading.Thread): 

def __init__(self, data, signal): 

self.data = data
                    self.signal = signal