1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Multiple commands to a button?

Does anyone know if there's a way to string multiple commands to a button?

I have a small app that has a menu command to pull up a search entry in a new frame, with a close button... when You click on the search menu option, it deletes the search option (to keep from opening multiple frames), so I want to know if there's a way to get the close button (in the frame) to run multiple commands when clicked. I want it to insert the menu option for search again, and frame.destroy as well.

I tried creating a function that would just do both, and tie the button to that, but for some reason (and I'm a serious newbie; about one week's worth of experience), I can't close the frame from within another function.

Relevant code is below:
    Code:
    def insert():
        menu.delete(3) #deletes the menu option that called this function
        cframe = Frame(main)
        def search(event):
            ENTRY = entry.get()
            """Bunch of search stuff"""

entry = Entry(cframe)
        entry.pack(side=TOP)
        entry.bind("<Return>", search)
        searchButton = Button(cframe, text='Search')
        searchButton.bind("<Button>", search)
        searchButton.pack(side=TOP)

b1 = Button(cframe,text='Close',command=menu.insert_command(3, label="Search", command=insert),command=cframe.destroy).pack(side=TOP)
        cframe.pack(side=TOP)
    If you look, it's not hard to see how I'm trying to string multiple commands to the "b1" button, but I just don't know how to pull it off. Like I said, I tried to define another function, but in that function, cframe.destroy does absolutely nothing whatsoever. I don't get it. Any ideas?
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Two things:

a) What toolkit are you using?
    b) I think a better general feel for what you are trying to do with the whole app would be better
  5. No Profile Picture

Sorry, I'm using Tkinter for the GUI.