1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Probably a very noob question

Hey guys, so I just started programming in python. I've done a few tutorials and taken some online lessons, but now it's time to learn by doing. So I am stuck right now, I need to import a class from a separate file (which i did), have it parse an element in a list, and store that parsed file as a dictionary.

I need your help with this, as I don't really know what to do, I thought that there would be a return but there is not, so I don't know what I am supposed to do. I assume that it is possible and I just don't know how.

The code I have so far is this (I honestly don't even know if I am formatting this code correctly, any guidance would be great, and please don't just say go watch tutorials, if you are going to help please give me actual advice to use in the future):

Code:
    class GCCCOMPARE():
        def __init__(self, list):
            self.GCCLIST = list 
            self.compare()
            self.GCCN = []
            self.GCCPLUS = []

def compare(self):
            n=0
            while n<size(self.GCCLIST):
                self.GCCN=self.GCCLIST[n]
                self.GCCPLUS=self.GCCLIST[n+1]
                GCCFORMAT.__init__(GCCN)
    And the code in the other file I was given is this:
    Code:
    class GCCFORMAT():
        def __init__(self, file):
            #print"New GCC Load"
            self.pList = [];
            self.dList = [];
            self.file = file;
            self.parse()

def parse(self):
            with open(self.file, "r") as icdhelper:
                for line in icdhelper:
                    sArr = line.split()
                    self.pList.append(PARAM(sArr[0], sArr[4], sArr[2], sArr[3], sArr[6], sArr[7]))
    I doubt this will be difficult for anyone experienced, but even so thanks a lot guys!
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)

Is difficult