1. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

What do you use Python for?!

Hello,

I am a recent computer science graduate. In university I used to write python programs for my courses, and I really liked this language. But now at work they don't need any Python scripts. I'm not sure how I can still be involved with it. So I though to ask you guys to see what you use Python for? Maybe that will give me an idea, because at this point the only thing I use Python for is to open webpages, or get the headlines from Yahoo News!
    How about you guys? I mean do you use it for your work purposes? For making games? Or just for school assignments? Do you have any good ideas that could be performed with writing Python scripts?
  3. No Profile Picture

The answer is a resounding YES

Personally, once I convince the net admin to get Python on my workstation [he tells me this is likely], I'll be automating some of my menial tasks with the win32com extension. Basically it will allow me to talk to the MS Office suite directly.

I'll be using it to read thru emails forwarded to me from the fire department, in order to file information about alarms relevant to U-Housing into an excel file. Aparently they like to keep track of the performance of the new alarm system.

As you already know from your headline-grabbing experience, people are continually writing extensions and packages for Python, just google the relevant task + Python.

Yes, and there is a very popular Python package for making games: "pygame". It's a great help to people with great game ideas but not-so-great graphics algorithm skills.

Originally Posted by sam_kh918
    Hello,

In university I used to write python programs for my courses,
    I want to go there
    But now at work they don't need any Python scripts.
    Yes they do