1. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Python 3 - What resources are out there and best?

Hellow everyone...

My company is considering using Python 3, now I am a DBA (Oracle, PostgreSQL, MySQL). I am not a programmer/developer, but I want to learn Python so I might be of some help, at least be informed. That being said, I am looking for the best Dead Tree HC books I can buy to add to my office library.

I currently just bought and just unwrapped yesturday:

Think Python - O'Relly book - published 8/20/2012

I was considering buying these other two books of:

Python 3 Object Oriented Programming - PACKT publishing - 7/26/2010

Violent Python: A cookbook for Hackers, Forensic Analysts, Penetration Testers, and Security Engineers - Syngress - 11/22/2012

Are there any other books I should consider? Is there much different between Python 2 and 3? Are there any Python 2 books I should consider buying as well. I am a total beginner to this language.

I know some Perl, and Bash / Korn scripting in a Linux/SUSE world. Any advice would be greatly desired.

Thank you in advance.
    Last edited by ByGoneYrs; January 18th, 2013 at 02:39 PM.
  3. Banned ;)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA
    Originally Posted by ByGoneYrs
    Is there much diffenet between Python 2 and 3?
    Some of the changes are syntactical (e.g. print() is now a function instead of a keyword. Therefore print("foo") will work on both python 2 and 3, but print "foo" only works on python 2). Some are a bit more far reaching e.g. no difference between int and long now, 1/2 now returns 0.5 instead of 0 (i.e. / does floating point division in python 3. For integer division, use // operator) Unicode support is now fixed to work sanely and quite a few standard modules have been improved. To see a list of the differences, go straight to the source:
    http://docs.python.org/3.0/whatsnew/3.0.html