1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

python + data storage

I had a crazy idea the other week (not uncommon). I am going to make a full-featured software package for estate agents, which will run on their desktop pc's. I have decided to use python (of which i have no prior experience with), simply because i am working on my own, so need to program quickly, make updates easily. how can i store data usin python - what sort of database would be best - has to be free - i will assume the agents are running a fairly new windows os. So what would be appropriate. We are not talking about a large number of properties - perhaps 1000 tops. Although each will have several photos and there is a miriad of features for each also.
  3. slightly insane code guru
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

there are good modules for interfacing python with mysql - you might try that.
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by deltacoder
    there are good modules for interfacing python with mysql - you might try that.
    do you think many companies use mysql in this manner? for some reason i can't really imagine mysql doing this job. does mysql run independant of apache?

i guess i was thinking of a static database like access, instead of server based. I think most companies use static databases for these purposes.

Or am i wrong?

Anybody with admin experience?

Ta.
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

For a simple sql-style database I would consider Sqlite and Gadfly. Firebird (more advanced features) is also totally free and there is a Python module for Firebird. Firebird can run as a server or embedded in an application.

For this type of thing an object database like ZODB or
    Durus might be better. It's easier to develop with and a small performance penalty is not that important.
    Good web hosting info - articles about web hosting
    hb's web dev blog
  9. No Profile Picture