Thread: Python Forums

Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Python Forums

Well I finally finished the forums. I wrote a pretty basic readme that i need to improve. Need to get a new look and name. Its hopefully cross browser. It requires a SQL database, its only been tested on MySQL. Mostly optimised, but this is my first project ever. (I'm 14) Hoping you can give me tips. Tell me if it doesnt work. If you want to contact me privately: (arkamir at softhome dot net) with at and dot replaced. Have Fun

Edit:

Be sure to add an entry into each table(forum subsection like general or linux) that is all nulls but has a threadnumber value of zero. Otherwise you will get an error. Also i think i made a mistake in my readme, you only need one database and a table for each forum subsection and only one table for users. Hope im not confusing
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Arkamir; February 10th, 2004 at 11:58 AM.
  3. Hello World :)
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)

Nice not bad at all! So much smaller than i was expected. Only one sugestion; you might wana try a more modular style in future, the more modular the better IMO. Generally you end up with easier/quicker to maintain programs

Also, if you're using Python 2.3 the new zip import feature makes for very clean modular programs, on the web or the desktop!

What else do you have planned for the forum? Ah, and do you have a live version we could check out and maybe leave some little notes .

I'll email you my project in a bit, hopefully you'll be able to find some use for it!

Edit: while i think about it, you might the db stuff in a seperate module and have you're program auto detect which modules are available and etc. might be interesting.

Mark.
    Last edited by netytan; February 10th, 2004 at 06:03 PM.
    programming language development: www.netytan.com Ė Hula

5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User