1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

New to python, need some help

Hello all. I would like to thank you in advance for any help you can provide and to say that im sorry that im new to python but over time im hoping to learn more about it.

My problem: I am trying to write a program that will figure out the average of a certain amount of numbers a user inputs. so if i tell the program i have 3 numbers, it ask what those 3 numbers are and then figures out the average of them. user can input any amount of numbers it wants to average ( instead of them wanting to do 3, it could be 4, 9 etc etc.)

I'm stuck on trying to figure what to put down so python knows how many numbers the user has inputted.

here is what i have for code so far

Code:
    # Average.py
    # A program to compute the average a number of times a user inputs

def main():
        print("This is a program to display the average of numbers inputted by user")
        print()
        n = eval (input("Please enter the amount of numbers you want to average:"))
    main()
    i put the last main() on there so i could test what i have so far so ignore that.
  3. No Profile Picture

also. i wrote all that in pycharm 2.7.3 and i have python 3.3.2
  5. No Profile Picture

anybody know?

ive tried a for loop, while loop and some how my while loop turned in to a infinite loop.

ive got the program to work without using a loop system but for class, it has to have a loop system.

so if you run the program, it should look like this

This is a program to display the average of numbers inputted by user

Please enter the amount of numbers you want to average: ( lets say 3)

Please enter a number: 2
    Please enter a number: 3
    Please enter a number: 4

your average for the numbers is: 8
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User