1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

New to Python, looking for advice!

Hello! My name is rhenzar and I am new to both these forums and the Python programming language! I decided to start this thread because I have both code-related questions and general programming questions, some small and some rather large. Before you ask, I am running Ubuntu 12.04 besides Windows 7 Professional, using gedit as my text editor and the Python Interpreter (v2.7.3) to handle my code. I've been following the LearnPythonTheHardWay.org guide, getting to about Exercise 19 before running into problems. Thank you for viewing this thread.

Code-related questions:
    Am I using the "argv" module incorrectly?
    Exercise 15 in the guide uses the "argv" module. I am providing two variables (script, filename) just as the guide says (I copied the exercise directly into my file afterwards, but to no avail) and I am getting the following error in the Terminal:

Code:
    rhenzar@ubuntu:~$/Python/PythonExercises$ python ex15.py
    Traceback (most recent call last);
      File "ex15.py", line 3, in <module>
        script, filename = argv
    ValueError: need more than 1 value to unpack
    This is the code from exercise 15:
    Code:
    from sys import argv

script, filename = argv

txt = open(filename)

print "Here's your file %r:" % filename
    print txt.read()

print "Type the filename again:"
    file_again = raw_input("> ")

txt_again = open(file_again)

print txt_again.read()
    The output given in the guide does not give this error, and none of the comments listed by the author's students report this problem. I believe the guide was written with v2.5.1 of the Python Interpreter. Was this module changed between those versions?

How do I read from and append a text file?