1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Python Programming for Xbox One Games?

I am just starting to learn the Python Programming Language.

I have been at it for a little over a month now.

I am wondering if we will be able to program Python Games for the Xbox One.

So, do you guys think it will be possible to create a game for the Xbox One using the Python Language or a variant of the Python Language?

Variants of Python include: CPython, IronPython, Jython and Cython.

I really want to make a game for the XBox One. Nothing big, just a small indie-game. But I don't know any other programming languages except Python.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by SpaceTimeTravel
    I have been at it for a little over a month now. I am wondering if we will be able to program Python Games for the Xbox One.
    You sound like you are putting the proverbial cart several miles before the horse.
    So, do you guys think it will be possible to create a game for the Xbox One using the Python Language
    Honestly, even if it is possible (which I think highly unlikely) it would likely not be the right tool. You should probably look into C# or C++ or even Unity.
    Nothing big, just a small indie-game.
    You are vastly underestimating the amount of work that goes into even the smallest indie game. Unless you create a fairly polished product you won't make it on Steam, Desura, XBox, anywhere, and even if you do you won't make enough money to justify development.

Spend some time here reading threads and absorbing information:
    http://www.reddit.com/r/GameDev
    I urge you however not to post a "I've been programming for one month and want a game on X-Box," thread though.

For the moment it sounds like you are dreaming; which is fine; so am I. Honestly I would suggest sticking with Python until you have a good grasp of programming in general. Maybe make a few games (with realistic goals and no aim to make money).

-Mek