1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Python script for chunking CSV data

Hi all,

I'm very new to Python and have been trying to develop a script on my raspberry pi that takes a CSV file containing potentially millions of sensor records, splits the files into chunks of rows and inserts them into a sqlite3 database. This is simply to improve the SQL performance by adding the data in transactions of say 10,000 rows at a time instead of writing and locking the file after each row.

So far I have:
    Code:
    import csv, sqlite3, time

def chunks(data, rows=10000):
        for i in range (0, len(data), rows):
                yield data[i:i+rows]

if __name__ == "__main__":

t = time.time()

con = sqlite3.connect('test.db')
    cur = con.cursor()
    cur.execute("DROP TABLE IF EXISTS sensor;")
    cur.execute("CREATE TABLE sensor(key INT, reading REAL);")

filename = 'dummy.csv'
    reader = csv.reader(open(filename,"r"))
    divdata = chunks(reader)

for chunk in divdata:
        cur.execute('BEGIN TRANSACTION')

for col1, col2 in chunk:
                cur.execute('INSERT INTO sensor (key, reading) VALUES (?, ?)', (col1, col2))

con.execute('COMMIT')
    However, I get a typeerror on line 4 saying the csv.reader has no len(). I found that this was due to the csv reader being non-subscriptable and was looking to the methods (like http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4956984/how-do-you-split-a-csv-file-into-evenly-sized-chunks-in-python) to solve that problem. Unfortunately I was getting invalid syntax errors with chunk and was getting nowhere.

My question really is, is there an elegant way to chunk CSV files (the number of rows are not known) into the memory for importing to SQLite without resorting to the likes of pandas/django etc for a bloated solution? I was thinking itertools.islice may be the most relevant option but am unsure how to implement.

Any help appreciated!
    Last edited by Raabot; August 7th, 2013 at 10:15 AM. Reason: +Details