1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Is there a more pythonisque/general way to do this

Hello,

I am relatively new to python and have been using python along with numpy and scipy packages to do some scientific computing.

I am working with data that is typically multidimensional anything from 1-D to 5-D. I used to program in C++ before and what I typically used to do was implement code seperately for handling each case, which is tedious and a maintainance nightmare.

Here, is a simple code that I wrote in python that does interpolation of 3D images (numpy array) using scipy. I am only quoting the relevant bits

Code:
    # Since the images are 3D, we have 3D deformation fields:
    X = deformation.data[0]
    Y = deformation.data[1]
    Z = deformation.data[2]

# The size of the image we need to interpolate.
    # Note, the image is 3D. hence, we have vx, vy, vz.
    [vx, vy, vz] = image.getVolumeExtent();
    X = X.reshape([vx, vy, vz], order='F')
    Y = Y.reshape([vx, vy, vz], order='F')
    Z = Z.reshape([vx, vy, vz], order='F')

# And now interpolate using numpy
    ndimage.map_coordinates(image.data, [Z, Y, X], result.data, order=self.order, prefilter=False)
    Now, if I want to convert it to 2D, then we have something like:
    Code:
    # Since the images are 2D, we have 2D deformation fields:
    X = deformation.data[0]
    Y = deformation.data[1]

# The size of the image we need to interpolate.
    # Note, the image is 2D. hence, we have vx, vy.
    [vx, vy] = image.getVolumeExtent();
    X = X.reshape([vx, vy], order='F')
    Y = Y.reshape([vx, vy], order='F')
    # And now interpolate using numpy
    ndimage.map_coordinates(image.data, [Y, X], result.data, order=self.order, prefilter=False)
    So, I have to either use 'if' statements or implement different methods by finding out the dimensionality of the input data and then calling the relevant implementation.