1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Reading output and producing input (post-processing)

Hello,
    I am very new to python, as such, please do not let my question insult your intelligence.

Essentially, I run analysis and use a lot of load combinations in order to yield the governing load combinations. Below is a single line from an output table:

PART FS HS TAB IDs area LOAD-ID LIM PHA UR N1 N2 N12 M1 M2 M12 V1 V2
    W-CANT27 108 7 MAX X11 10000 BAS85336 ULS 45 0.78 1310 -1959 -4640 1 2 0 -1 1

What I currently do in order to incorporate these governing loads in my new input file is copy the unique BAS# into an input file in order to run that.

You may wonder why I need to re-run this as I already have my results. The reason is that the supplementary visualizing software cannot produce plots based on thousands of combinations (well, it can but it would take days), but it can do so when I select, letís say, 50 governing combinations (one such combination is seen in the line above).

As you may have figured out, what I hope to do is take a unique BAS combination and place it into an input file.
    The NEW Load Combination input file (that originally contains all the combinations) will still have all the combinations but as you can see in the following line is commented (%) out and then the loads needed are uncommented:

% DECAS DWP=4 LS=ULS PHA=45,60,75 BAS=85336:A

to yield

DECAS DWP=4 LS=ULS PHA=45,60,75 BAS=85336:A

Ultimately, I would like python to select the unique BAS# from the output file (first line) and uncomment this from the input file.