1. Business *****
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Research: Python vulnerabilities

Hi... I'm currently doing some research on vulnerabilities for several programming languages... I'm not an enourmous programmer myself, and therefore, I'm asking you guys, if you would please give me any information you can on Python vulnerabilities, like : What functions you shouldn't use? (and alternatives for these), what methods you should use to prevent exploitation? etc.

I really hope you'll help me here, I need all the information I can get.

With regards
    Michael Mortensen
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

What functions you shouldn't use? (and alternatives for these)
    exec(), eval(), and input() will all evaluate Python code, and really should not be called on user input, incase the user is malicious.

There are no alternatives; don't execute user-provided code full stop.

what methods you should use to prevent exploitation? etc.
    There's nothing that I can think of in Python off the top of my head; it has memory management so you don't get buffer overflow errors and such like...

Other things are more to do with your design or connecting to other systems - e.g. if you are writing a program with user logins, make sure you don't store plain text passwords, and you should be careful with SQL when talking to a database when dynamically creating SQL from web input, say, but those aren't "Python the language" concerns, they apply to any language.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

for the input function their is the raw_input("...") which alot of beginners use.

about exploitation, I cant really think of anything else either, except maybe the speed alittle it is not very fast (if i understand the question):P.
    Those people who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do.
  7. Mini me.