1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Setting a Variable to the Exit Code

Hello, I am new to Python and I am just starting to figure things out but this one has me stumped.

I need to capture the exit code of my processes in order to track them in a database. I have all the other components working except this. In DOS I use:

Echo %errorlevel%

then post the value of %errorlevel% to the SQL table by calling a CF page and passing the value in the URL.

Is there a way to calculate %errorlevel% with the exit code of the process in Python? I need Python to set %errorlevel% equal to the exit code. Iím pretty sure that Ď%í is not the proper syntax in Python to designate a variable but, as I said, Iím new. Below is the Python code that I am using to open the CF page that inserts the data to SQL.

opener = urllib.FancyURLopener({})
    n_url = opener.open('http://cob/gis/GISAutoProcess_Action.cfm?ProcessID=000&ErrorCode=%errorlevel%')
    for line in n_url.readlines():
    print line

Thanks in advance for your help.
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

Hmm. Your question in general is a bit confusing to me. But to call functions (I'm not sure about variables) from Batch applications in Python, you can call systems commands through the o module.
    Code:
    import os
    os.system('echo hello')
    This would be the same as typing echo hello in your Windows command prompt, or in the terminal for a Unix or Linux system. Whatever is being called in os.system() is the command you will tell the system to perform. This may help you out a bit.
  5. No Profile Picture