1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Socket Security Issues

I'm pretty new to Python but I've written a little script that uses a socket object to connect to another computer and send a few strings. This works in conjunction with a MEL script I wrote. This requires Maya to open a commandPort to interface with the Python script.

The question I have is: are there any security issues to beware of when using sockets and opening ports. What is the scope of this socket? Does it work over the Internet or just a LAN? (it's difficult to test when you only have access to two computers) Any general programming tips would be appreciated as well.

the Python code follows if it makes any difference.

Thanks for any advice.
    -James
    www.arcsecond.net

Code:
    import socket
    import os

def MCT_sender(text, host, port):
    	remoteHostIP = socket.gethostbyname(host)
    	localHost = socket.gethostname()

maya = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_STREAM)
    	maya.connect((remoteHostIP, port))

isMCTopen = "if (!`window -exists MCTWin`) \n\t MCT(\"" + localHost + "\"\n);"
    	maya.send(isMCTopen)

maya.send("$newLine = \"" + localHost + ": " + text + "\\n\";")
    	maya.send("scrollField -e -ip 0 -it $newLine historyGrp;\n")

maya.close()

if __name__ == '__main__':
    	import sys
    	text = os.path.split(sys.argv[1])[1]
    	host = os.path.split(sys.argv[2])[1]
    	port = int(os.path.split(sys.argv[3])[1])
    	MCT_sender(text,host,port)
  3. Registered User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

hey james, good to see another maya dude in here! i'm learning python at the mo too.

in regards to security, i'm not expert, but opening a port in maya is a big security hole. i believe if your machine is connected to the net, then it will be remotely accessible too (i'd be happy to help u test that if u want). considering u pretty much have access to a command line through maya, its a bit scary.