1. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

How can I start using PyWin?!

Hello,

I am an intermediate Python programmer and have been using the console so far for running my programs. I have recently installed the PyWin32 and the only thing I know about it is that it gives me a GUI interface for running my scripts. But I don't know how to start using it. The only thing I know is where it's installed! Could you please give me a small example as to have a start on it?

Thanks alot.
  3. Mini me.
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

I guess you mean how do you use the Win32 package? The Win32 extensions allow you to interact with Microsoft operating system facilities.

Check out the
    C:\Python23\Lib\site-packages\win32\Demos
    directory for examples.

grim
  5. Hello World :)
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)

There's also a very good book on using Python with Windows from O'Reilly called "Python Programming on Win32". Definatly worth a look if you're going to be going down this path.

Mark.
    programming language development: www.netytan.com Hula

7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by sam_kh918
    Hello,

I have recently installed the PyWin32 and the only thing I know about it is that it gives me a GUI interface for running my scripts.
    Sorry, but it doesn't - it provides an interface to the Windows API, things like COM clients and servers, getting handles to open windows, event logs, using NT file APIs to read and write files, changing security settings, and so on. It's useful, but not for that.

If you want a GUI to develop graphical applications instead of command line only ones, then you need to look at one of these;

tKinter - installed with Python, but a bit dated. http://www.pythonware.com/library/tkinter/introduction/

wxPython - www.wxpython.org

GTK - http://www.pygtk.org/

PythonCard (runs with wxPython but simplifies it) - http://pythoncard.sourceforge.net/