1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Starting with Python as my first language

Hi, first time posting. I was wondering if anyone here could recommend some books for me that will help me learn Python? I've noticed that many programming books tend to assume that you have at least some understanding of a computer language so I really need help with this. I've never tried to learn programming before so whatever books you suggest needs to be plain and simple. Also some free resources would be appreciated as well. Thanks in advance.
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)

What are your interests?

Are you an aspiring mathematician?
    Hope to make your fortune in web site development?
    [code]Code tags[/code] are essential for python code and Makefiles!
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by b49P23TIvg
    What are your interests?

Are you an aspiring mathematician?
    Hope to make your fortune in web site development?
    Well I suck at maths to be honest and one day I would like to know how to make websites for sure, but for now I just want to learn how to make programs to understand how computers work better. Python seems to be a good place to start and I've actually already found a book through the sticky, A Bite of Python. I've just finished the 'Hello World' program which worked thankfully.
  7. Contributing User

Failed to identify your interests.

Congratulations. If you misunderstand some concept please read the documentation if you have some clue where to look
    docs.python.org
    and then when still stuck write to the forum and you may get a different perspective or specific advice.
  9. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

You see...